Works by Women

Supporting creative work by women

The Leslie Scalapino Award


Helga Davis and Yon Tande in Non Sequitur. Photo by Paula Court.

Tomorrow, June 1st, is the deadline for The Leslie Award for Innovative Women Performance Writers.

Last December, I saw the arresting production of Khadijah Queen’s Non-Sequitur, the previous award winner, at Theaterlab.  It was in my top 10 shows of 2015. What an inspirational production from The Relationship (directed by Fiona Templeton).  Eva Yaa Asantewaa raved, “The heightened physicality of the characters is as eloquent, stunning and giggle-producing a factor in this work’s effectiveness as are the words.”

The Leslie Scalapino Award recognizes the importance of exploratory approaches and an innovative spirit in writing for performance.  Previous winners are Joyelle McSweeney’s Dead Youth, or The Leaks, and Khadijah Queen’s Non-Sequitur.

The Prize: The winner will receive a $2,500 cash prize, print publication of the winning text by Litmus Press, a staged reading of the piece in New York this fall, by Fiona Templeton’s company The Relationship; and a full production of the work in the following year.  The award is biennial.

To learn more about Leslie Scalapino, visit here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


This entry was posted on May 31, 2016 by in Awards, Theater, Women and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,646 other followers

Twitter Updates

<span>%d</span> bloggers like this: