Works by Women

Supporting creative work by women

The Lilly Awards

On May 24th, the first ever ‘Lilly Awards’ will be awarded to 17 women theater artists by the The Committee for Recognizing Women in Theater at Playwrights Horizons.  Named in honor of Lillian Hellman, the awards will also recognize Mary Rodgers (music for Once Upon a Mattress, From A to Z) for lifetime achievement.

The committee includes Julie Crosby, Gary Garrison, Tina Howe, Marsha Norman, Theresa Rebeck, Susan Rose and The Dramatists Guild of America.  Its goal is to recognize up-and-coming, successful female playwrights, directors, designers and theater advocates.

Kristin Chenowith is scheduled to be a presenter, and Gloria Steinem will also be in attendance.

Look for The Lilly Awards to grow in the years ahead.  For the full press release, visit


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


This entry was posted on May 21, 2010 by in Theater and tagged , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,534 other followers

Twitter Updates

%d bloggers like this: